USING WHAT WE HAVE

There are times when I sit down at my computer and my mind is touched by thoughts that lead me to my word processor. 

Once, as I was reading one of Max Lucado’s short messages, I was reminded of the number of times Satan has endeavored to press ENVY into my heart.  It begins gently and takes on a familiar scheme. “Wow, Max writes so well.” “I wish I could write like that.” “Why can’t I write like that?” “Why does Max have that talent and I don’t?” “Grrrrrr!” You see where I’m going with this, right? 

In times of weakness, I have to remember some special assignments God has given to me.  When my friends’ son was killed in a car accident, my mind was filled with words that took the form of a letter from son to parents.  When I refused to write them, I was made miserable until I opened up Word and began to type. That “letter” was used by God to comfort grieving parents and was later used by the parents to witness for the Father. With so many more talented writers in the world, including Max, God used me for his purposes. Wow, how did that happen?   

The point I’m making is this: Though Max and I may not have the same talent level, we have the same Agent. Max was blessed to touch the world. Maybe, I was blessed to touch a few hearts. In the end, it doesn’t matter because the inspiration comes from the same source. Besides, I could probably beat Max in ping pong. I’m smiling broadly.

“All these are empowered by one and the same Spirit, who apportions to each one individually as he wills.”—1 Corinthians 12:11      

Leave a comment