THAT OLD TABLE

There is a dining room table in my memories.  It was part of a magical house down the road in Marion Station.  Marion is a tiny village, now considered a ghost town, in Somerset County. 

The table belonged to my grandparents, and it was the place to be on holidays like Thanksgiving and Christmas.  Not all of the family could make it every holiday, but as my mind travels to distant memories, they are all there now.  The conversation is animated and the love obvious. 

I sit quietly consuming my feast and look around the table at beloved faces; faces that bring a smile and, perhaps a tear, at their recollection.  I loved them so much, but now those dear ones have gone to the Father.  Those of us who are left were but children then, and we are scattered. 

Often on holidays now I travel to my cousin’s home to eat some of her marvelous cooking and sample the cheery pie she frequently promises.  The gatherings are often small, as other family members have their own obligations and duties.  We enjoy our fellowship, but a part of my heart will forever be given to my grandparents’ table and that charming time known as childhood.

I can smile at my thoughts, knowing God’s house has a great table, and the family I am missing here is gathered there; rejoicing with the Father.  Granddad, Nanny, Mom, Uncle Bobby, Uncle Wade, Aunt Betty, Uncle Scotty, and little Jodie Dale must all look beautiful, just as I remember them.  Perhaps, Marvin and Ruth Whisnant, and their oldest son, Mike, from my heart-adopted second family, are seated nearby.  It’s my memory, so I’ll set the table according to my own heart. 

A valued friend says he doesn’t spend time thinking of the past.  We have different feelings on the topic.  There’s a popular television show with a main character who uses a line I like.  He says, “The future is cloudy, but the past keeps getting clearer every day.”  I plan to trust God with my future, but I’ll also thank Him for the strong roots nourished in my family’s soil.  They helped to make me who I am.   

“Father God, thank you for those you have taken, for their influence on my life, and for loving and protecting them . . . until I can catch up.”      

“And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.”—John 14:3 (NKJV)

Leave a comment