HOW I CAME TO TEACHING

Back in 1971, I was fresh out of college with a degree in accounting.  I knew my plan well.  I would be working in an accounting office wearing a white shirt and a narrow black tie.  Crunching numbers would be my path to prosperity.  I knew my plan well, but, somewhere, God laughed.

1972 brought one of the most miserable years of my life.  I kept trying my plan for the road to success, but that road seemed filled with obstacles.   So many times, my plan ran off the road, and other times it hit imposing walls.  I can’t tell you how many times I was told I was overqualified for a job.  “We don’t have anything right now, but we’ll keep you in mind.”  Finally, in the Spring of ’72, I found myself in a classroom at Carolina High School in Greenville, South Carolina.  A need for some kind of income had brought me there as a substitute teacher.  I actually found I might like teaching.  That was an unbelievable surprise for someone who hated to be in front of a group of people.   God smiled and probably said, “you’re getting warmer.”

After a number of part time jobs, I returned to college in the Spring of ’73 to take education courses necessary before I could student teach and be certified.  Along comes a girl and away goes my heart, so that semester passed very quickly.  Along with my education block, I took the only accounting class I had skipped as an undergraduate, receiving an A.  My professor said, “I may have been wrong about you, Roberts.  You don’t want to teach.  I can get you a job at a ski resort as an accountant.”  It sounded great, but my new dedication to teaching and “that girl” led me to say “thanks but no thanks.”  That summer, 1,000 miles and “out of sight, out of mind” sent my heart and the girl in different directions.  Misery returned and tipped his hat.  My plan had changed, but the road was still hazardous.

The Spring of ’74 saw me return to college for student teaching.  I was fortunate to be given a position at the local high school and only had to drive a short distance.  The aforementioned young lady was only a mile or so away in her dorm and my heart throbbed and I felt desolate.  A trip to North Carolina to see my mentor and former pastor brought relief.  He put his hand on my shoulder and prayed with me.  I returned to my college town and felt amazingly at peace.  I probably shouldn’t mention that while attending a basketball game a short time later, “that girl” sat down beside me and soon we were dating again.  Oops!  Student teaching went well, but one day I came home to find my landlady waiting for me.  “Howie,” she said, “a man called from the FSLIC (now part of the FDIC), and he’s coming here tonight to interview you for a job.”  I had taken the Federal Service Entrance Exam and scored quite well, but was surprised that the government wanted me so badly.  The interviewer tried his best to sell me on an auditor position, but I told him I had just spent the last two years preparing to teach and that was still the plan.  Yes, thoughts of a potential future with a certain young lady also played a part in my decision.  God was likely shaking his head.  “Oh, my child!”

At the end of the semester, I received my certification from Tennessee.  I applied to school districts all over the South, including many in Florida, where the object of my affection lived.  I didn’t even get a nibble.  By now I was back on the Delmarva and I had returned to my seasonal position with Green Giant Company.  I had placed no teaching applications on the Shore.  One day the plant superintendent said to me, “Howard, there is an Office Supervisor position open in New Jersey.  You’re the kind of guy we want with Green Giant.  Why don’t you let me set you up with an interview?”  I traveled to Vineland, New Jersey and was interviewed and shown the plant and office.  I returned to Maryland to await their decision.  The next day, the Factory Supervisor, my immediate boss, told me his wife, a teacher, had mentioned a business education position open at Wicomico High School.  A teacher had married over the summer and had not returned to her position.  I called and was scheduled for an interview with the Business supervisor.  The interview went well, but I was told I would be notified when a decision was made.  I decided to “lay down a fleece.”  “Mr. Cheery,” I said, “I have to be truthful; I’m waiting for another job decision and whichever comes first is the one I will take.”  I drove home kicking myself for my feistiness, but I think God was saying “That’s what I’m talking about.”  That road was looking a little smoother.

The next day, the phone rang and Mr. Charles Cheery said, “Howard, the Board of Education of Wicomico County has decided to hire you for the open position at Wicomico High School.”  Green Giant would later write me a very nice letter, wishing me well and stating their knowledge that high caliber people were always in demand.  I was flattered but happy.  I was now on the right road; the one God intended for me.  There would still be rough spots and many ways to get run off the highway, but now God’s plan and my own were the same.  And, the adventure had just begun.

“What about the girl” you ask.  During the summer of ’74, I sensed the same thing happening as the year before.  I ended the relationship.  Sometimes a quick death is less painful than a long one.  I’ll never forget the time I spent in her company or that of several other women who would grace my life over the years.  Whenever love visits a heart, a blessing is left behind. 

Leave a comment