THE WINNER’S CIRCLE

Mary Agnes Scott! Robert Paul Howard! Mary Agnes Howard! Betty L. Scott! Robert A.B. Howard! Wade Arthur Howard Sr! Edwin K. Scott! Clyde Hobson Roberts! Donavon Arthur Scott! Rev. Marvin and Ruth Whisnant and son, Michael! Jodi Dale Brumbley! Most of you don’t recognize those names, but they are attached to my heart. To me, they are mother, grandparents, aunt, uncles, father, step-father, beloved friends, and baby cousin, respectively. To God, though, they are all the same. They are his children, as are you and I. I like to think of them as being in The Winner’s Circle.

Sometimes, I find myself desperately trying to keep those names remembered and honored, even to family and friends who didn’t know them. I really don’t need to bother, though, because they are remembered by God and he has equal remembrance of his first child and the latest new-born that entered this world kicking and screaming even as I write. One day we will all be remembered in the same place and those who have served God will be honored. One thing is certain. When we meet Jesus face to face, we will know we were never forgotten or over-looked no matter how insignificant we thought our walk might have been. In God’s family album there is a special page for each of us and each of those we loved.

Leave a comment