WHEN GOD SPEAKS

I once had a job delivering newspapers along the coast from Rehoboth to Ocean City.  The job required me to rise in the wee small hours of the morning and, if things went well, I was delivering by 4:00 am.  One morning, my papers did not arrive on time and I went down to a local donut shop near the boardwalk to pick up a couple of fresh-made delicacies.  A young woman smiled at me and said, “Isn’t it beautiful.”  She was referring to the burgeoning sunrise over the Atlantic.  She GOT the message God was sending, but I was jaded.  I saw the sunrise every morning and, to me, it just meant I was running late.  I was too self-burdened to look and listen to the message God wanted each viewer to see and hear.

The situation was quite different on the morning of May 7, 1995.  I visited my mother’s bedside for the final time.  Her body was there, but her spirit was gone; lifted to that special place God promises to His children.  As I drove home in the early morning, God was determined I would not miss His message this time.  The sun was welcoming another glorious day.  The clouds were fleecy and the breeze offered a soft promise of the coming summer.  Everywhere I looked on the drive home I witnessed the beauty of God’s creatures; the very same ones He knows I love so well.  About a mile from my home, a large deer stood with its front hooves on the side of the road.  It didn’t turn to run or even appear afraid.  It simply watched my truck as I drove by; almost suggesting recognition. 

When I stepped from my truck to a chorus of bird song, I felt God was sending me two messages.  The first reminded me that I no longer had to worry about my Mom and her care.  “She is safe with me now,” God whispered.  The second message was more personal: “You are not alone, for I am with you and ever shall I be, even until the end of the world.”    I felt comforted and grateful at the same time and tried to imagine my mother’s bright smile as she heard the applause of angels. 

Max Lucado writes:  “God speaks to us.   He may use a sermon.  He may inspire a conversation.  He may speak through a song.  He may even speak through this brief message.  But, isn’t that just like Him?  Oh, the lengths to which God will go to get our attention and win our affection! Listen to Him.” 

“Very truly I tell you, you will see heaven open, and the angels of god ascending and descending on the Son of Man.”  (John 1:51)

Leave a Reply

