Does Heaven Have A Room (For Me)

When I was teaching, far too many young people passed through my door already feeling defeated by life. In the early days of my career, students were grouped by perceived ability in “major” classes. I once had to cover a “C” section English class. When I prepared to make the assignment, a student said, “I know she didn’t leave much work for us. We’re a “C” section. We’re the dummies.” I wanted to correct him, but was held back by the catch in my throat that just might expose an urge to cry. So young to be jaded and beaten down by life! If such an individual had already given up on the world, would they believe they had any place in God’s Kingdom?

When Jesus said, “My father’s House has many mansions and I go to prepare a place for you,” he didn’t leave out anyone. Notice he didn’t say “some of you,” “only the rich,” or even “only the righteous.” If we believe there is a place for us in Heaven, we must make sure no one feels left out. There is room for all.

Max Lucado has a friend named Joy who teaches in the inner city. One quiet little girl from a difficult background, once lifted her hand and asked, “Mrs. Joy, is heaven for girls like me?”

Max writes, “I would’ve given a thousand sunsets to have seen Jesus’ face as this tiny prayer reached His throne. A prayer to do what God does best: To take a pebble and kill a Goliath. To take a peasant boy’s lunch and fed a multitude. To take three spikes and a wooden beam and make them the hope of humanity. To take the common and make it spectacular!”*

Christians, we have a call to march and encourage! We must make sure no one feels abandoned. Young or old! Rich or poor! Lost or righteous! Remember the children’s song: “Red and yellow, black and white, they are precious in His sight” Faith, forgiveness, and discipleship lead all in the same direction; an eternal home in our Father’s Kingdom, and hopefully, a feeling of importance in this world as well.

In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for YOU. John 14-2

Leave a Reply

